Fredonia newest institutional member of Fulbright Association

The State University of New York at Fredonia is the newest institutional member of the Fulbright Association, joining over 200 U.S. colleges and universities. It is the third SUNY campus, along with SUNY Buffalo State and Oswego, to become a member of the official U.S. alumni organization of Fulbright programs.

Established in 1977, the association now has now has over 60 local chapters including international chapters. Several Fredonia faculty are active in the Western NY/Northwest PA chapter and Fredonia has hosted a number of chapter events. The association’s main goals are to advocate and promote Fulbright programs, provide a means of engagement for Fulbright alumni and educate and raise awareness of Fulbright goals.

The primary goal of Fulbright programs, established in 1946 by U.S. Senator William Fulbright, is to promote international understanding and peace through international exchanges. It has grown into the premier international exchange program for faculty and students. Alumni of the various Fulbright programs include more than 80 Pulitzer Prize winners, 59 Nobel Prize laureates and 30 former or current heads of state or government.

Fredonia has a rich history of success within Fulbright programs. Since 1981, approximately 50 faculty awards have been granted for the Core program. There are presently 18 faculty members who have received awards, including several who are multiple Fulbright award recipients. In recent years, three Fredonia students have received Fulbright Student awards, as well.

For more information about Fulbright programs or the Fulbright Association, contact Dr. Ted Schwalbe via email. He serves as the campus Fulbright representative and is currently president of the local Fulbright Association chapter.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *